How and Why Hashtags will help my Online Business?

How and Why Hashtags

How and Why Hashtags will help my Online Business?

Have you ever wondered how and why hashtags are used in the online arena. To be honest, when I first heard all the buzz about hashtags I really did not understand how they worked or how and why hashtags could be so powerful.

Hashtags were first originally used in programming language before becoming widely popular to social media. They can consist of a word or multi-word phrases using the (#) pound sign in front of them. Using the # symbol preceded by a word or phrase can help people search for a specific topic or keyword.

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Using Hashtags have now been adopted to use across several social media platforms, such as Twitter, Facebook and Instagram, Google+, to more effectively categorize content and track targeted content. This helps users to find posts that interest them.

Watch this funny excerpt with Justin Timberlake and Jimmy Fallon over using hashtags, Hilarious! 

How and Why to Use Hashtags in your posts?

Using hashtags in your posts on social media can attract people that are looking for something specific. Check out Hashtags.org to see what is trending and would provide more engagement to your post. Generally, you want to use hashtags that are relevant to your topic but this is not always the case.

For example, you may feel emotional about the topic and use a hashtag like #soexcited or #thrilling. Simply put, a hashtag is an easy way for people to categorize, find and join conversations on a particular topic.

  • The How: Find the keywords that will attract readers on the topic and simply place the hash symbol (#) in front of the word or phrase. There is no need to use spaces between the words in a phrase. Often it is difficult to understand the hashtag when several words are all together, so you can capitalize the first word to solve this problem. For example: #ThrowBackThursday.
  • The Why: The internet is literally packed with some many posts all throughout social media, it is difficult to find a particular topic you are interested in reading. When hashtags are placed in a post the user can enter into the search bar using a hashtag and the topic or keyword to find what they are looking for. This helps solve the problem of having to wade through thousands upon thousands of unrelated posts.

Learning how to use hashtags is fundamental to your success on social media engagement. You can create your own hashtag to target the audience you want. For example, if your post is related to babies rather than using #parents, hone in on the target using #newmom.

Be careful not use to many hashtags in your post. According to analysis posts with nine hashtags receive the most engagement. Additionally, don’t create long hashtags with too many words. The idea is to make your tag searchable from any social media site.

[bctt tweet=”Hashtags are a great way to group content and demonstrate up to date trends!” username=”sandsonlinevent”]

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Donna M Sands, SandsOnlineVentures@gmail.com
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Six Strategies for Gaining Instagram Followers

Instagram

As Instagram continues its meteoric rise in both monthly user base and saturation metrics, it makes sense for businesses to get on board. Statistics show that engagement rate on Instagram is much higher than either Facebook or Twitter. Not making Instagram a part of your marketing campaign is a mistake your business cannot afford to make.

With that in mind, here are a few strategies on how to grow your Instagram following:

Post Daily

Get into a regular flow when posting to Instagram, but don’t inundate your followers with content. A few times a day is probably the ideal number. Quality content combined with consistency will do more to drive up your number of followers than flooding their feeds will.

Share on a regular basis so you can discover what works best for you and your business. Provide creative, engaging content, and you’ll be rewarded with not only more supporters, but followers that are interested in your content.

Promote User Content

A great way to promote user content is to take fantastic content from other creators, and put it on your Instagram account. Be sure to give credit to the original producer of the material, though. Show off the unique and uncommon stories your users have to tell, and when you do, make sure to add hashtags that point back to your business.

Photo Contest

Photo contests are a fun way to share your brand while gathering photos from followers under a theme. Be sure to get involved in the contest yourself while sharing it across multiple platforms. But don’t be in a hurry. Allow users time to hear about the contest and participate.

Make sure the rules are clear and concise, so you avoid confusion with the contest. If you’re unsure of how to proceed, find a business to partner up and double the audience.

Understand Hashtags

Hashtags are an essential part of Instagram, and using the right hashtag can make the difference between a post that falls flat and one that shoots to the top of your followers feeds.

To determine the appropriate hashtags to use, peruse the content of those similar to your own. You can search for and record hashtags that are relevant to your brand, then use them in your content to drive traffic to your business.

Filter Selection

Instagram filters are fun, but also a little confusing. Which ones should you use to drive views and engagement? Pay attention to the responses you receive depending on the filter you use. Some tend to lead to more views, while others may contribute to a higher number of comments. Play around with them and find the ones that work best for your business.

Engage

Really engage with your followers. A list of all the greatest tips and tricks will be helpful, but they’re never going to compete with rolling up your sleeves and getting dirty on the platform. Be intentional about leaving thoughtful, engaging comments, like photos that strike you as meaningful.

Find new people to follow on a regular basis, interact with them, and respond to their questions and comments. Doing so will result in natural and organic growth for your Instagram platform.

Gaining followings on other social media networks can feel like you’re beating your head against a wall, but that doesn’t have to be the case with Instagram. Create engaging, quality content and connect with your followers.

The way you engage with your followers will have a direct impact on how your account increases. If you’re willing to help others, word will spread, and growth will occur. For additional help, you can check out Insta Lead Magic, Take a Look Now.

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Hope you found this helpful. Feel free to Like, Comment and Share.

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Donna M Sands, SandsOnlineVentures@gmail.com

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Add a Personal Touch to Your Brand Through Influencer Marketing

Word-of-mouth is one of the most valuable forms of marketing as it has been shown to influence 20-50% of all InfluencerMarketingpurchasing decisions. People will take the recommendation of a person they know and trust over a corporate ad any day.Word-of-mouth is one of the most valuable forms of marketing as it has been shown to influence 20-50% of all purchasing decisions. People will take the recommendation of a person they know and trust over a corporate ad any day.
Moving beyond family and friends, influencer marketing has weaved its way into a highly sought out form of personal recommendation. To demonstrate this, 40% of Twitter users made a direct purchase because of an influencer’s tweet.
Influencer marketing is word-of-mouth for the digital age. Your company can use people with massive online followings to advertise your products on social media. Here’s a breakdown of influencer marketing and where to start.
What’s an influencer?
A social media influence is someone who leads in a specific niche and can use their following to market products of companies who share the same customer profile as their followers.
There are different types of influencers and more than one might work for your company. Understanding how these types of influencers attract a certain type of customer will help you choose which one is best for your brand.

  • Celebrities
  • Bloggers
  • Micro-influencers

Celebrities are the most popular choice when it comes to endorsements. Major celebrities promote different products that are gifted to them or things they truly love or Instagram or Twitter. Some celebrities eventually go on to become official partners of a brand to create limited edition products and collections.
Influencers don’t always have to have a big name. Bloggers are a good choice for an influencer because depending on their field, they may have established a level of authority and expertise. Bloggers with strong followings in health, fashion, or technology have potential to spike an increase in sales with just one promotional post.
Micro-influencers have become extremely popular over Instagram. These people aren’t necessarily famous; they just happen to have many followers interested in a specific topic or product to make them a potential partner for a brand.
You may have seen micro-influencers with followers in the hundred-thousand’s promoting herbal fit teas, nutritional supplements, or clothing brands.

[bctt tweet=”The Ultimate Guide to Get Dirt-Cheap, Laser-Targeted Leads on FaceBook for ANY Business in 24 Hours or Less” username=”sandsonlinevent”]

How do I find an influencer?
A large social media can be compelling enough to sign someone as an influencer for your brand. Don’t be so quick to send them your products just yet.
Ask yourself the following questions when considering a potential social media influencer:

  • Who are you trying to influence?
  • Who do your target customers trust?

An ideal influencer for your brand will need to be relevant to your brand. Remember that they will be sharing your company’s content and developing a following based on the market you want to target.
Resonance amongst your audience is another important quality for your influencer to possess. The potential level of engagement that a person can create with your target audience is incredibly valuable to your brand.
The benefits of influencer marketing
With the right influencer, you can reach a very specific audience that is ideal for the product you’re selling. By finding an influencer who shares the same interests as your product, you can assume their followers are the same.
A good influencer will be selective in what they choose to promote by rejecting those products they feel their audiences won’t gravitate towards.
Influencers want to get something out of your partnership. By creating content that is relatable, engaging, and sharable, influencers are gaining just as much exposure as your product.
With this motivation, the potential to go viral in comparison to a paid ad is much more likely. Organic buzz from these instances is a great way to increase your follower count and build up your email and targeting lists.
Even when a social media post is clearly marked as sponsored content, an influencer provides authenticity to your brand. An influencer that makes your product relatable by weaving their own story into it will receive a genuine response from followers. 70% of consumer’s value online opinions even if they don’t know the person. Influencers offer a tangible, human aspect to your brand that people can connect with.
Influencer marketing is only increasing in market share. While there are many benefits to incorporating influencers into your marketing strategy, take care to choose a person who embodies your brand and can reach your ideal audience.

The first step to utilizing any social media outlets is to master them one at a time. Since Facebook is the most popular and widely used, I always recommend starting there with a large audience. To discover how to best use this marketing strategy, CLICK HERE to Learn more.

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Donna M Sands, SandsOnlineVentures@gmail.com

Improving the Lives of Others.
Always Here to Help!

How to Grow a Targeted Follower Base on Instagram

Instagram is becoming increasingly popular. It’s a useful social media site for any entrepreneur that wants to remain updated with the latest marketing channels. Grow a Targeted Follower Base is not that difficult.

As with most social media platforms, the more followers that you’ve got the more effective your social media marketing will be. So, to begin increasing your Instagram followers, you need to focus on a target audience.Grow A Targeted Following

Here’s a set of simple tips to begin growing a targeted follower base on Instagram.

Start Liking Posts Related to Your Niche

The first way to begin increasing your follower base on Instagram is to start liking posts. Like posts that are related to your niche industry.

For example, if you sell products for internet marketing, you’d want to like posts related to internet marketing.

Liking other posts is a good way to gain attention, especially from industry leaders or people with more followers than you.

Instead of simply following an industry leader, you should go through and like 5 to 10 of their posts. Make sure that you leave a comment on at least one of these posts.

Respond Promptly and Leave Authentic Comments

Commenting is a good way to gain followers, retain followers, and increase engagement. You should respond to comments as soon as possible. You can set up email notifications so that you never miss out on these comments.

Also, don’t be afraid to comment on other people’s posts. As mentioned, this can be effective when you start liking other posts.

While these comments are useful, they need to be authentic. Don’t leave a generic comment as a response.

For example, if someone leaves you a compliment, don’t respond with, “thanks!”

Instead, you should come up with a real response. It only takes a few minutes, but can have a major effect on follower engagement and your overall online reputation.

Create Your Own Hashtags and Get People to Use Them

You can start building your own community on Instagram by creating your own hashtags. Though, you also need to get people to start using them.

For starters, you can create a hashtag related to your targeted audience or niche industry. Combining abbreviations and words is a good way to create original hashtags.

You can also search for hashtags. When you create an original hashtag, perform a search to ensure that it’s not already in use.

Find Out What Your Audience Wants

If you know what your target audience wants, it’s easier to create Instagram posts that they’ll enjoy. You can start by looking at who they follow.

Look for Instagram accounts for other businesses in your industry that are followed by your target audience. See what types of posts these people put out. Also, see what types of posts your audience tend to share and like.

Continue to Release New Posts Each Day

If you want to target a specific audience, you need to remain consistent with your posts. Continue to release new posts each day.

You should also pay attention to the time of the day that you receive the most engagement from your followers. You might find that your target audience is more active during a specific time of the day. Use this to your advantage and schedule your posts to be released at this time each day.

Use High-Quality Photos and Videos

Don’t forget to use high-quality photos and videos. If the photos that you use appear to be professionally-taken photos, you’ll be able to gain more followers.

People perceive the value and quality of your products or services based on what you put out there. If you use grainy photographs, people will assume that you don’t have a quality business, as you can’t afford quality photos.

Start making better use of your Instagram account by focusing on your target audience. If you’d like even more internet marketing tips and a system for getting conversion-ready prospects, then click here to learn about my done-for-you system.

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Improving the Lives of Others.

Creating an Effective Social Media Posting Schedule

I can remember in my early days of getting started in my home business struggling with staying on task in my daily routine of productive activities. My coach suggested Creating an Effective Social Media Posting Schedule. So I started researching and monitoring when my friends where on their Social Media outlets in order to learn peoples daily routine. The frequency of your social media posts can directly impact the number of followers that you get and keep.Effective Social Media

If you post too infrequently or frequently, you’ll lose followers. You’ll also have trouble getting people to take notice of your social media accounts. For this reason, you need to come up with a schedule.

[bctt tweet=”Do You Have A Social Media Posting Schedule? ” username=”sandsonlinevent”]

A social media posting schedule takes into consideration the following factors:

  • The best time of the day to post
  •  The best day of the week
  •  The topics you should post about
  •  The percentage of promotional content

Determine the Best Time of the Day and Best Day of the Week

The best time of the day to post will vary, depending on the social media platform that you use. Also, your target audience may have different internet preferences.

Don’t forget to take the time difference into consideration. 80% of the US population are in the Eastern or Central time zones. If you’re in California and want to target the largest audience, you’ll want to plan your posts based on EST time.

Engagement tends to peak at the following times during the weekdays:

  • 9 AM EST – overall engagement
  •  1 PM EST – most shares
  •  3 PM EST – most clicks

Next, consider the best day of the week to post. Monday through Wednesday, people are less active on social media. The majority of the population is too busy getting into the work week.

By Thursday, people are looking forward to the weekend and are more likely to spend time browsing on social media.

User engagement peaks on the weekends. This goes against previous studies that showed higher engagement during the weekdays. But, trends change over time.

The bottom line is that you should post between Thursday and Sunday to increase engagement. You should also plan at least one post for 9 AM, and subsequent posts around 1 and 3 PM.

Find Topics That Your Target Audience Will Enjoy

Along with considering the time of the day and the days of the week to post, you need to consider the topics of your posts. Find topics that your target audience will enjoy.

The first place to start is with the platform that you’re using. Facebook makes it easy to share just about anything, but Instagram and Pinterest are more image-centric. This means that content with a compelling image included in the post will be more effective on these platforms.

The topics should also be related to your niche and provide real value to your readers. This could include:

  • News
  •  Tips and tutorials
  •  Advice and suggestions

Essentially, it needs to contain quality content with beneficial information. What is the benefit to the viewer to click and read your post?

You can explore the most popular topics by performing searches through each social media platform. Each of these networks, including Twitter, Facebook, and Instagram, includes a search box. Watch for a follow up blog post that will provide a neat search tool.

Type a keyword into the search box and look at the top results. View the profiles of the original posters of the top posts. Look for posters that tend to share content related to your niche and see what topics receive the most likes, shares, and retweets.

Balance Your Promotional Content

Along with your schedule and topics, you need to balance the use of promotional content. It’s a perfectly acceptable business practice to use self-promotional posts on social media. But, if you use too many promotional posts, you’ll lose followers. Try using curiosity statements or questions to keep your audience engaged.

20% appears to be the median where engagement increases or decreases based on the frequency of promotional posts. This means you should plan one promotional post out of every five posts.

If you post once per day, this is one promotional post per week. If you post several times per day, you’ll share a promotional post every other day.

Start using a social media posting schedule to increase the effectiveness of your social media marketing efforts. Along with these suggestions, you can get more internet marketing tips and a system for generating more internet prospects by clicking here to learn about my done-for-you system.

Take some time to get to know your target audience’s interests, routines so you get the best engagement with your posts.

P.S. Was this Helpful? Let me know with a Like, Comment and Share. Remember to complete the form on the right of this page and get your Special FREE Gift.

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Donna M Sands, SandsOnlineVentures@gmail.com

Is Traffic Really Your Problem?

If you listen to the average internet business owner you’ll be lead to believe they have some kind of ‘traffic issue.’ They can’t get enough visitors to their webpage… or their list is too small to make a sale… or blah blah blah.

In reality, traffic is NOT your problem. 

WiFiMillionaire

You live in an age of digital abundance, a wonderland for marketers and business owners alike. Facebook. Adwords. Bing. Solo Ads. YouTube. Reddit. Instagram. Whatever.

There are literally BILLIONS upon BILLIONS of customers that can be reached in the next 30-minutes through one of the paid traffic sources I listed above.

If that’s the case, how then can you have a traffic problem?

You might say – “I can’t afford to buy traffic”. If that’s your objection you don’t have a traffic problem, you have a CONVERSION problem.

Here’s the deal – when you have a high-converting, high-ticket offer, traffic – and affordability – becomes a no-brainer. Because you know that every dollar you spend on advertising is going to bring you $1.10… $1.30… even $2 back. You’re literally buying cash at a discount. You can’t afford NOT to advertise.

But the key here is having an offer that converts well at a high price-point. 

Conversion you get, right? No conversion; no money. But why do you have to promote high-ticket offers?

It’s the math.

When Google Adwords first launched you would pay as little as 1 cent per click. But nowadays you would be hard pressed to buy a click for less than a $1 (depends on the keywords). Therefore your advertising costs have multiplied dramatically in just a few short years.

So think about that, let’s say you’re paying $2 a click – not a crazy number -and your sales page is converting at 3% (really good).

So, out of every 100 people who visit your page, 3 buy straight away.

100 x $2 PPC = $200 right?

This means to BREAK even each customer would have to spend $67 for you to break even.

3 x $67 = $203

And that would be if the $67 was pure profit, no product costs, no hosting fees, etc…

That’s a tough-gig.

Now imagine the average customer spent $1,000. Same conversion rate, same cost per click.

3 x $1,000 = $3,000.

You’ve made close to $2,800 in profit. Even taking in 50% in costs, you’re still ahead $1,400.

That’s the math behind internet riches. And why a high-ticket product will win EVERYTIME.

Forget the ‘low hanging fruit’ of $10 eBooks that seem easier to sell. It doesn’t pan out. Focus your time on promoting high-ticket products and your bank account will thank you.

Trust me.

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Donna M Sands, SandsOnlineVentures@gmail.com

 

How to Properly Use Hashtags In Social Media Marketing

When I first starting hearing and seeing Hashtags being used, I had no idea what they where, what they do for you, literally anything about them. So I checked it out to see what all the buzz was about on social media sites such as Twitter. And I found that a word or phrase preceded by a hash or pound sign (#) and used to identify messages on a specific topic attracted people to take a look at your post.social media hashtags

Hashtags are useful for helping people discover your social media posts. Twitter was one of the first social networking sites to make good use of hashtags. But, they’re now an important part of all social networking sites, including Facebook, Pinterest, and Instagram.

While hashtags are useful, they can also have a negative impact on your marketing efforts. You need to be careful with how you use hashtags in your posts. So, with that in mind, you should learn how to properly use hashtags for social media marketing.

The Basics of Hashtags for Social Media

First, let’s make sure you understand what a hashtag is and isn’t. You can think of hashtags as keywords. That’s a hashtag in a nutshell. It’s a keyword or keyword phrase without any spaces and it includes the pound sign at the beginning of the phrase.

The reason that you should use hashtags is that they’re used by social media search engines. When a user performs a search, the site finds relevant posts based on hashtags. And, hashtags are now used by almost every major social media site, including:

    • Facebook
    • Twitter
    • Instagram
    • Google Plus
    • Pinterest
    • Tumblr
    • Flickr

So, you know the basics. Next, find out how to properly include hashtags in your posts.

The Correct Way to Use Hashtags

If you can remember what hashtags are used for, it should be easy to use them properly. Here’s a quick look at the correct use of hashtags:

    • Use up to 3 hashtags per post
    • Make sure they’re relevant to your post
    • Use local terms to increase local marketing

Generally, you’ll only use 2 or 3 hashtags per post. Adding too many hashtags shows that your posts don’t have a clear focus. Instagram is an exception to this rule. For example, Instagram posts with the highest engagement typically have 4 or 5 hashtags.

When choosing hashtags, make sure that they’re relevant to your post. Don’t include a hashtag simply because you think it’ll attract more users. You can take a look at trending hashtags to find examples, but don’t add them to your post unless they actually make sense in your post.

You can also use local terms to help increase local marketing. For example, when posting about an event, you can include the name of the city where the event will take place. The same applies to posts about local businesses.

The Incorrect Way to Use Hashtags

It’ll also help to learn the incorrect way to use hashtags. These are methods that you should avoid:

    • Using too many hashtags
    • Including hashtags in your message
    • Using the same hashtags every time

Remember, don’t use too many hashtags. Unless you’re using Instagram, you should only use up to 3 hashtags. Otherwise, they’re no longer helpful.

Also, don’t include hashtags in your message. Don’t use them to replace words. This makes it hard to read your message. For example, you wouldn’t say, “check out our latest #SEO #service.” Place them at the end of the message.

The final tip is to avoid using the same hashtags every time. Mix it up. Using the same hashtags will only help you continue to attract the same people. Do you use the same keywords on every single page of your website? No. So, use a variety of relevant hashtags to appeal to more people.

Here is a free site you can see what the trending Hashtags are each day. Again, make sure they are relevant to your post. Check it out!

As long as you follow these tips, hashtags should help you gain more followers and improve your social media marketing. In addition to these tips, if you’d like even more marketing suggestions, as well as a way to generate conversion-ready marketing prospects each month, then click here to learn about my done-for-you system.

Interested in learning more? Click Here and let’s get you going in your own home online business today!

P.S. Was this Helpful? Let me know with a Like, Comment and Share. Remember to complete the form on the right of this page and get your Special FREE Gift.

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#instragram, #socialmedia, #workathome